” Combobulated”

Not really how to start this theme though will do my utmost to give clear realization. As a child never had a grandmother or a grandfather. Children need a sense of belonging and a sense of being nourished by an older generation. In the Midwest and in the South in which I lived a numerous number of years there are extended families.
As a child growing up never had a grandmother or grandfather. Never knew them. When I would inquire I was thrown a bunch of names which meant nothing to me at the time.
My mother wasn’t the type to teach me how to cook anything. Guess her mother would teach her things such as cooking. Yet my mother didn’t do this. She never let me by example. Never knew how to base a turkey, prepare holidays meals.
Grandfathers and grandmothers give a real vibrant living history to children. Telling them stories of the time which was spent long ago.
Still the cycle continued, my two precious sons never knowing grandmothers or grandfathers. Much later in life I met a lady who lives in Alabama and she had a good amount of grandchildren and great-grandchildren so one more wouldn’t matter. I became her friend and grandchild and I still speak to her today.
My wonderful two sons had an Aunt Cora and Uncle Perry which they both met when my sons were quite young. And believe this they were impressed with their kindness they had shown and remembered them also.
My husband and myself had shown an abundance of love. There was the four of us without an extended family.

Leave a Reply

